Back in the game, angrily

Blogging has been slow over the last five days as I’ve been on the road but now I’m back.  It was a great trip except for one thing:   the airplane killed my guitar.

I’m so angry.  I  knew taking it on the plane was risky but I thought I took all the right precautions:   I convinced the people at the check-in counter that I had to carry it on, it never left my side and there were no other bags in the overhead compartment.   But then a few hours after arriving, I pulled  it out of its bag and find that the air pressure had snapped the wood on the head-stock, essentially killing it.   FUBAR status.    Basically, repairing it will cost more than buying a new one. 

This reminds me of a story I read in Eric Clapton’s autobiography.  Way back in the early ’70’s Clapton saw a guitar that he knew his friend Jimi Hendrix would just love.   So he bought it and brought it to a club where expected to run into him.  Except Hendrix  never showed up because this was the night he passed away, and so whenever Clapton saw this particular guitar model he was overcome with a deep sense of sadness.  I feel Clapton’s pain as I type  this post while staring at my mashed-up guitar.  But unlike Clapton, I don’t have guitar companies competing to give me their best equipment for free ( at least not yet),  so I have to go out and buy a whole new guitar.   Just what I felt like doing. 

 So the moral of the story is loosen your strings when you fly.  Also,  regular blogging is back at MediaShack.

12 Responses

  1. Shouldn’t the airline pay for it if they broke it? You should call them up, tell them that they broke your guitar, see if they’ll pay for it. No harm in trying.

  2. no because they didnt break it. it was my fault because i didnt loosen the strings. the strings were tight and with the air pressure tugging, eventually the pressure got so great that it just snapped the wood.

    if i had checked it and it was broken in the hold then maybe I’d have a claim. But in this case its pretty much my fault

  3. yeah but now you have an excuse to go guitar shopping

  4. Will,
    Exactly. I just got back from Guitar Center. Theyre having a sale so I picked up a pretty good piece for a really good deal.
    Rob

  5. I was going to ask if it was a Spanish guitar but when you mentioned Clapton and Hendrix, I guessed it was an electric one. Without a doubt they are good guitarists but I was amazed when I heard Paco de Lucia for the first time.

  6. John,
    I tried to introduce Rob to Spanish flamenco guitar music. He wasn’t very impressed.

  7. John,
    Thanks for the clip. By coincidence, Blackstar did try to get me into Flamenco music but its not that I wasn’t impressed. I’m aiming to play more rock-esque type music. But I’lm defintely interested in flamenco music.
    Rob

  8. Blackstar, did you try “Saturday night in San Fransisco” with Paco, Al Di Meola and John McLaughlin?

  9. Well,
    The concert of Aranjuez isn’t exactly flamenco eventhough their might be some influence. Hey, even when you listen to Clapton you hear some Spanish influence. You have to as the Spanish were the masters. Let’s not forget the Moroccans and su Oud. My God, this is really beautiful music.

    Their was a very successful attempt at fusion with el Lebrijano and Shaqara. They performed in the Manuel de Falla Auditorium in Granada. It was incredible. I think I have a copy. I just need to learn how to upload it.

  10. Hi Rob,

    You said:
    ” John,
    Thanks for the clip. By coincidence, Blackstar did try to get me into Flamenco music but its not that I wasn’t impressed. I’m aiming to play more rock-esque type music. But I’lm defintely interested in flamenco music.
    Rob ”
    There is no doubt that knowing more music schools will enrich your repertoire and provide you with more resources when creating music.
    Do you speak Spanish?

  11. Adrian I didn’t find “Saturday night” on YouTube. But I’m not that big a fan of Al Di Meola, I prefer the spanish gypsies. Most notably the heir to Paco de Lucia, Tomatito, who’s an incredible virtuoso. Check out the CD he did with Michel Camilo. Another guitarist Rob should listen to is Django Reinhardt.

Leave a Reply

